Aidan Hutchinson, Sean Clifford among the 13 finalists of the William V. Campbell Trophy


Thirteen finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, the premier varsity-athlete in college football, were announced on October 27. The award is presented by the National Football Foundation and the College Hall of Fame and recognizes the best in the country for success, football performance and exemplary leadership.

The 13 finalists will each receive an $ 18,000 graduate scholarship as a member of the 2021 NFF National College Athlete Class presented by Fidelity Investments.

MORE: Sporting News Mid-Season All-America Team

The finalists will all travel to the 63rd Annual NFF Awards Dinner presented by Las Vegas on December 7, where one of them will be named the winner of the 32nd Campbell Trophy and his graduate scholarship will be raised to 25,000. $. The event will take place at the ARIA Resort & Casino Las Vegas.

Here is the list of finalists:

Troy Andersen, LB – State of Montana (3.91 GPA – Farm Business)

Thomas Booker, DE – Stanford (3.88 GPA – Economics and Communication)

Mike Caliendo, OL – Western Michigan (3.90 GPA – Biomedical Sciences)

Sean Clifford, QB – Penn State (3.45 GPA – Public Relations)

Cameron Dukes, QB – Lindsey Wilson [KY] (3.89 GPA – Physical and Health Education)

Patrick Fields, DB – Oklahoma (3.82 GPA – Accounting)

Matt Henningsen, DE – Wisconsin (4.00 GPA – Electrical Engineering)

Aidan Hutchinson, DE – Michigan (3.54 GPA – Applied Exercise Science)

Joshua King, LB – United States Merchant Marine Academy [NY] (3.73 GPA – Marine Engineering)

Charlie Kolar, TE – State of Iowa (3.99 GPA – Mechanical Engineering)

Henry Litwin, WR – Slippery Rock [PA] (3.66 GPA – Safety management)

Sean Mahone, S – West Virginia (3.60 GPA – Management Information Systems)

Grant Morgan, LB – Arkansas (3.66 GPA – Kinesiology)

“These young men have an unwavering commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives, and they represent all that is fair in college football,” said NFF President Archie Manning. “As strong leaders in the vein of the namesake of the Bill Campbell Trophy, they all serve as living examples that the future of football is bright. We are delighted to honor their hard work and outstanding leadership with scholarships. of graduate studies. “

Past winners of the award, which began in 1990, include Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1996), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2009), Christian Wilkins (Clemson, 2018) and Justin Herbert (Oregon, 2019).