Lynne Jewell Shore >> Scuttlebutt Sailing News


The US National Sailing Hall of Fame selected eleven sailors in 2021 to join the previously recognized 90 people who were consecrated since first class in 2011.

Among the 11th class to be officially inducted on October 16, Lynne Jewell Shore (1959-), one of the first women to win an Olympic gold medal in sailing, Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year and former Executive Director of Sail Newport . She is featured in this tribute by Gary Jobson, inducted in 2011:

Lynne Jewell Shore was on the trapeze line with skipper Allison Jolly in the last race of the 1988 Olympics. The wind was blowing at 30 knots and the jib halyard suddenly came loose. The sailors had three options, capsize the boat and swim up to the mast to secure the halyard, leave it alone and probably finish last, or lower the jib and try to reattach it.

The two US sailors were in the running for a gold medal if they could find a way to make the fix. Jewell Shore made the decision to stop the boat, having Jolly hold the mast with her foot while she used a spare piece of string to tie the sail to the halyard. The fix worked and they joined the race, almost in last place, but with the sail secure they fought back.

The most dramatic decision was when they decided to put the spinnaker to flight. They were in danger of capsizing, but the other boats having chosen to sail downwind without a spinnaker, the American crew returned to finish ninth in the heat and win the gold medal.

It was a historic moment because for the first time at the Olympic Games dating back to 1896, there was a class specifically for women. After the race, exhausted but jubilant Jewell-Shore said: “I’m really happy, but it was a nightmare there. It was impossible to tell if we were 10th or 20th. Allison added, “Emotionally it was pretty hectic.” With a lifetime of experience, resilient sailors have found a way to prevail.

Jewell Shore was one of the best solo sailors in the world, having won the Women’s World Laser Championships in 1980 and 1984 as well as the United States Solo Championships in 1980 and 1983. For her outstanding accomplishments, she was named the Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year in 1980 and again in 1988. It was a major transition for her from racing alone to being a crew on a 470.

She was an excellent inter-varsity navigator at Boston University and earned two degrees and two minors. She received the Scarlet Key Award for Studies and Sports.

Jewell Shore was Executive Director of Sail Newport in Rhode Island and was a member of the US Olympic Sailing Committee which was instrumental in introducing Europe Dinghy and in following up the training program for the Olympic Games in 1992 and 1996. Subsequently, Julia Trotman won a bronze medal in 1992 and Courtenay Becker-Dey won a bronze medal in 1996 in Europe Dinghy.

She also worked on the Olympic Employment Opportunities Program and played a significant role in the development of the Claggett Championships for Junior Women’s Sailing Singles and Doubles.

Growing up, Lynne Jewell Shore was inspired by her mother who was a crew member aboard Irving and Electa Johnson’s “Yankee” for a round-the-world trip in 1953-54. The Johnsons were inducted into the National Sailing Hall of Fame in 2016. She is quite proud of her daughter who paved the way for gender equality in Olympic sailing. At the 2020 Tokyo Games, there were 175 male sailors and 175 women sailors.

The 2021 class will be officially inducted at a ceremony on October 16, 2021 in Newport, RI.